Full coverage insurance is required by most lending agencies as long as there is any lien on the vehicle. Many car owners carry full coverage simply because it offers them the guarantee of another vehicle of the same value if the original is a total loss. Residents who live in Las Vegas, NV are not required to carry full coverage auto insurance on their own. They must, however, prove they have the minimum amount of coverage to drive legally according to Nevada law.
According to state law, Las Vegas, NV residents are required to carry a minimum amount of vehicle insurance referred to as 15/30/10. The 15/30/10 minimum breaks down to:
- $15k per person of bodily injury coverage
- $30k per accident of bodily injury coverage
- $10k worth of property damage coverage
Residents must provide proof of this amount of coverage if they are stopped by the police, first plate their vehicle, or when the resident renews their tags each year. The right insurance agent can help residents find the right type of coverage that meets the state’s minimum requirements if they own their vehicle outright.
When a vehicle is paid off, and the owner receives the title, they no longer are required to carry full coverage insurance. Dropping from full coverage to PL/PD means losing the opportunity to be reimbursed for any property loss or medical bills that are the result of an accident. The state of Nevada uses an online verification system that can verify whether or not a person has insurance. It is extremely important to make sure the insurance remains in effect during the transition.
Contact Stevens Insurance today for more information.